Comrie Street, Crieff

A view of Comrie Street, Crieff, Perthshire, about 1904. On the left are the pillars of the library with St. Michael's Masonic Lodge of 1816 above, and a tobacconist and barber next door. The South United Free Church stands at the top of the street, and on the extreme right is the drapers business of A J Scrimgeour, locally known as Scrimgeour's Corner.

Crieff stands in a picturesque landscape above the River Earn. During the 18th century it was notable for its cattle markets and since then has developed as a holiday and health resort. The South United Free Church was originally built in 1880-1882. Its architect was J J Stevenson. The red sandstone church has a slated spire which is based on the design of Dunblane Cathedral.

  • Material/Medium: n/a
  • Date: c.1904
  • Creator: Wood & Son Printers, Perth, purchased from Wylie, Keir Street
  • Accession number: W0370
  • Category: Photography
  • Subject: Comrie Street,Crieff,Perthshire,Scotland,A&J Scrimgeour,Scrimgeour's Corner,South United Free Church,people